where the horse is always the hero
Article Item
Posted 2019-01-16 23:07:00  
Hall Of Fame Honours Past Greats

The first four horseracing superstars to be inducted into the SA Hall Of Fame are:

• Sea Cottage (horse)
• Michael Roberts (jockey)
• Syd Laird (trainer)
• Harry and Bridget Oppenheimer (owners)

The inductees were announced in Cape Town at Wednesday’s barrier draw for the Sun Met Celebrated with G.H. Mumm after a selection process – including a public vote – involving lists of nominees in each racing sector.

Sea Cottage captured the public imagination with his amazing finishing speed in the late 1960s. Trained by fellow Hall Of Famer Laird, the colt won 20 of 24 races, including the Durban July, two Queen’s Plates, two Clairwood Winters and a Champion Stakes.

His sensational shooting – on Blue Lagoon beach by a gangster, with the collaboration of a bookmaker – shortly before the 1966 July sealed his legend.

Sea Cottage was fourth in the July that year and returned to famously dead-heat with Jollify in 1967 – with the bullet still in his rump.

That was one of seven July victories for Laird, the foremost conditioner of his day and one of the most celebrated of all time.

Laird’s other July winners were Kerason, Colorado King, Java Head, Mazarin, Politican and Yataghan.

Roberts won the SA jockey championship as an apprentice, then claimed 10 more titles in the 1970s before heading to the UK and winning the championship there.

He took the Group 1 Eclipse Stakes twice on Mtoto and also won France’s Prix Royal Oak, Italy’s Prima Roma and the Japan Cup. In 1997 he won his only Durban July on Super Quality.

The Oppenheimer name was synonymous with racing for decades, with Anglo-American’s billionaire boss Harry and wife Bridget breeding and racing scores of brilliant horses.

Their stars included Horse Chestnut, King Willow, Tiger Fish, Bodrum and Cherry On The Top.

The 17 nominees who missed out on the Hall Of Fame this time around will get further chances in future – as will other racing heroes that might be nominated for the honour.

Email link to a friend | Printable Version
  • South Africa
    Displaying 10 ResultsSee All
    sean tarry hits 20001 days ago

      Sean Tarry Racing brought up their 2000th winners as Flash Burn won a maiden at the twilight...

    View | Add Comment
    strydom talks turffontein 2 days ago

    We are currently going through a period of heavy rains and while it's great for the country, it does...

    View | Add Comment
    heat the factor in fairview race abandonment3 days ago

    In a unique situation, one that no one in modern South African history can recall, it was decided th...

    View | Add Comment
    herholdt to stay on in korea3 days ago

    Fransie Herholdt’s stint in South Korea has worked out very well, with the result that the Kor...

    View | Add Comment
    hero's honour on july track 4 days ago

    Four-year-old Hero’s Honour posted a 1,20-length win over fellow Gr1 winner Return Flight in a...

    View | Add Comment
    fairview trainer comments 4 days ago


    View | Add Comment
    star filly on course for kzn6 days ago

    Oh Susanna has recovered from her injuries in the Sun Met and is back on course for the KZN season b...

    View | Add Comment
    vaal abandoned tuesday 7 days ago

    The race meeting scheduled for the Vaal today (Tuesday) has been abandoned due to a waterlogged trac...

    View | Add Comment
    todd claims exports within a year2019-02-11

    Adrian Todd is aiming to have South Africa opened up for direct equine exports to Europe within the ...

    View | Add Comment
    national park to tackle classic 2019-02-11

    Gauteng Guineas winner National Park has remained in Johannesburg until the second leg of the SA Tri...

    View | Add Comment