where the horse is always the hero
Article Item
Posted 2021-10-30 08:27:14  
Final Field for Mel Cup announced

The field for the 2021 Lexus Melbourne Cup has been finalised with Australia’s rising star Incentivise set to tackle the best that the country and the world has to offer in what promises to be an exciting race on Tuesday 2 November at Flemington.

The 24-horse strong field boasts last year’s Lexus Melbourne Cup winner Twilight Payment, the Caulfield Cup winner Incentivise, a nine-time Group 1-winning heroine in Verry Elleegant as well as winners of the 2020 Penfolds Victoria Derby, 2019 Kennedy Oaks, 2021 ATC Australian Derby, 2021 The Lexus Bart Cummings and the 2021 Sydney Cup.

TAB NO Horse Barrier Trainer Jockey Wgt
1 Twilight Payment 2 Joseph O'Brien Jye McNeil 58
2 Incentivise 16 Peter G Moody Craig Williams 57
3 Spanish Mission (USA) 14 Andrew Balding Craig Williams 57
4 Verry Elleegant(NZ) 19 Chris Waller James McDonald 57
5 Explosive Jack(NZ) 4 Ciaron Maher & David Eustace John Allen 54
6 The Chosen One(NZ) 5 Murray Baker & Andrew Forman Damian Lane 54

7 Delphi(IRE) 3 Anthony & Sam Freedman Damien Oliver 53.5
8 Ocean Billy(NZ) 13 Chris Waller Damien Thornton 53.5
9 Selino(GB) 24 Chris Waller Ron Stewart 53.5
10 Johnny Get Angry(NZ) 22 Denis Pagan Lachlan King (a0) 53
11 Knights Order(IRE) 9 Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Daniel Stackhouse 53
12 Persan 11 Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Luke Currie 53
13 Carif 8 Peter & Paul Snowden Blaike McDougall 52.5
14 Master Of Wine(GER) 6 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Fred Kersley 52.5
15 Pondus(GB) 1 Robert Hickmott Rachel King 52.5
16 Grand Promenade(GB) 21 Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Kerrin McEvoy 52
17 Miami Bound(NZ) 17 Danny O'Brien Patrick Moloney 52
18 Port Guillaume(FR) 23 Ben & JD Hayes Harry Coffey 52
19 She's Ideel 20 Bjorn Baker Craig Newitt 52
20 Future Score(IRE) 15 Matt Cumani Dean Yendall 51.5
21 Tralee Rose(NZ)
12 Symon Wilde Dean Holland 51
22 Floating Artist(GB) 10 Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Teodore Nugent (a0) 50
23 Great House(IRE) 7 Chris Waller Michael Dee 50
24 Sir Lucan(IRE) 18 Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Glen Boss 50
Image: Incentivise


Email link to a friend | Printable Version
  • Australia
    Displaying 10 ResultsSee All
    boss retires but no fairytale end 3 days ago

      The 52-year-old’s final race ride was not a winner despite punters backing Spanish Mis...

    View | Add Comment
    kah return delayed 7 days ago

    Star jockey Jamie Kah’s return to the saddle from suspension is set to be delayed by a week. ...

    View | Add Comment
    jockey wins court case 2021-11-17

    Star jockey Jamie Kah could return to the saddle as early as next weekend after her appeal to the Su...

    View | Add Comment
    golden eagle bigger than melbourne cup prize 2021-11-09

    Sydney’s spring racing carnival now boasts the two richest races in the nation with the Golden...

    View | Add Comment
    melbourne vs sydney for sprint race best2021-11-09

    Racing Victoria is set to review its spring sprint races, with the impact of The Everest on Melbourn...

    View | Add Comment
    mel cup owner fined for covid breach celebrations (r100k) 2021-11-04

    Melbourne Cup-winning owner Brae Sokolski said he’ll “cop it on the chin” after be...

    View | Add Comment
    alexander to saddle first runner in aus2021-10-28

    The wait is finally over for Gary and Dean Alexander, who saddle up their first Australian runner at...

    View | Add Comment
    cox's plate favorite scratched 2021-10-23

    Today’s Cox Plate favourite Zaaki has been scratched from the $5 million event due to an eleva...

    View | Add Comment
    boss back to melbourne 2021-10-18

    Three-time Melbourne Cup winning rider Glen Boss will re-join the Melbourne riding ranks as of this ...

    View | Add Comment
    caulfield cup: aussie champ brings tears to owner2021-10-16

    Saturday began with tears and it finished the same way for owner Ozzie Kheir. The tears were flowin...

    View | Add Comment